Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

Astor House Hotel, where I stayed in Shanghai, is apparently the oldest Grand Hotel in China. Or that what they told me there when I checked in.

Nice place. It was built in 1846 and it had quite a few celebrities staying there including Albert Einstein, 18th US President Ulysses Grant, Charles Chaplin, one of my most favorite writers and philosophers Bertrand Russel and of course … myself.

I was a bit surprised to see a Russian Consulate right in front the hotel.

It explained an unusual amount of Russians hanging out in the hotel as well as a big poster advertising some Russian airline that I have never heard of.

Respond to Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

Leave a Reply

